Getting Reconnected to God

Before you pray this prayer you’ll need to know that any instructions will be put in brackets in bold. Example: [Pray out loud the following prayer.]

Hear my prayer God, according to Romans 3:22-24, “God makes people right with himself through their faith in Jesus Christ. This is true for all who believe in Christ, because all people are the same: All have sinned and are not good enough for God’s glory, and all need to be made right with God by his grace, which is a free gift. They need to be made free from sin through Jesus Christ.”

You say in the Bible that “Whoever shall call on the name of the Lord shall be saved” (Acts 2:21), so I am calling on You. Please become a reality in my heart and mind because it says in Romans 10:9-10, “If you will confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus, and believe in your heart that God has raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For with the heart a person believes unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.”

I trust you to open my spiritual eyes so that I can see and receive this truth, and I receive it right now by faith. I confess Jesus as my Lord, and believe that God raised him from the dead.

[Now take a moment and just drink in God’s presence and the reality of what just happened. Also, share any concerns that you might have and be completely honest with God.]

So now I am a Christian, born again by your Spirit…a child of the Almighty God! I am saved and sealed, and since your word says, “If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children: how much more shall your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to them that ask him?” (Luke 11:13), so I ask, please give me the Holy Spirit and fill me with his presence and power, which will be evidenced by me speaking in heavenly tongues according to Acts 2:4.

[Read Acts 2:4: “And everyone present was filled with the Holy Spirit and began speaking in other languages, as the Holy Spirit gave them this ability.” Ponder the truth of this verse and just sit and wait for the Holy Spirit to fill you.]

[Respond to God’s presence with whatever comes to you…don’t edit yourself…but rather, pour out your emotions to the Lord. Let spirit words flow from you.  After all, you have just received the first great miracle of being reconnected to God. Now you will not only have “abundant life” through Jesus, but when you die you will go to heaven, not hell.]

[Find a good church and be baptized. Make sure they teach the whole word of God and that they believe in the infilling (baptism) of the Holy Spirit and the gifts of the Holy Spirit.]

Now let me pray a blessing over you: Dear heavenly Lord, I trust that you will hold this one in the palm of your holy hand throughout all the days of their life and that they will have life abundant flowing through them from the Holy Spirit. May they find their calling and fulfill their destiny while on this earth, and may you meet all of their needs according to YOUR riches in glory by Christ Jesus. May they always be hungry and thirsty for your word and your presence, and have your great favor over every aspect of their life. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen!

About gloryjean

I’m a poet, artist, songwriter, and blogger. I’m bonkers about good biographies, persistent in my pursuit of learning French, and just plain weird when it comes to symmetry. I am a “quiet” philanthropist (or “good deed doer” according to the Wizard of Oz) who likes to make a difference in people’s lives. I enjoy too many things and wish I could be more focused. (Suspicions of ADD have crossed my mind!) One of my dreams is to have a library just like Professor Henry Higgins (My Fair Lady)…ladder and all! My art has been compared to Chris Riggs (for Mayor), which flatters me (of course), but I do think my style is distinctly different … hope you enjoy it!
This entry was posted in Prayers and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

