Give What You Can, When You Can

I’ve always had a passion for giving to those in need, but even more so in the last decade.  Maybe it’s because I’ve known some hard times myself, or maybe it’s just a softening with age.  Whatever the reason is, I don’t really care, all I know is that it’s made my life a far more enriched experience.

I realize that a lot of people look at the down-and-out and think, “what’s a matter with you.  Pull your boot straps up and get it together.”  Easy to say from a lofty perch, but it’s only a matter of time before that person hits a wall or hard time and finds themselves the one that’s down-and-out.  Roses and rainbows are not an every day, 24-7, year-in-year-out occurrence.  Most of us  will experience a time of lack sooner or later.  Look at Michael Jackson, even he, with all his wealth, entered into financial difficulties.

So my hope is to inspire people to REACH OUT to those less fortunate.  If you have $10 you’re about to spend on a meal out, take that 10-spot and go buy some groceries for someone that you know has a need.  If you don’t know of someone, ask some of your friends if they know anyone, and don’t think for a second that one bag of groceries doesn’t make a difference…because it does.  When you bring your gift to the person, put your arms around them and tell them that you care.  Believe me, that will make a huge difference to them!

Here’s another idea: do you know someone who can’t pay their light bill.  Put as much as you can afford in the pot and take up a collection from friends, family and neighbors to pay their bill.  Word of wisdom: ask them for their bill and go pay it yourself.  Bring the bill back to them after with the payment confirmation.  This gives you two opportunities to tell them you care, and it makes sure the bill is paid.

How about filling someone’s gas tank with gas; someone that has to drive a long ways and has been stuggling.

Whatever you do, do it with a smile and a happy heart. After all, God will repay anyone that gives to the poor and needy.  And of course, I’d love it if you’d share one or more of your stories about the joy of giving (or receiving)!

Let’s keep encouraging one another in the LIFESTYLE of GIVING!

Copyright 2010 Gloria Jean Dewitt

Great resource for the self-taught learner!

About gloryjean

I’m a poet, artist, songwriter, and blogger. I’m bonkers about good biographies, persistent in my pursuit of learning French, and just plain weird when it comes to symmetry. I am a “quiet” philanthropist (or “good deed doer” according to the Wizard of Oz) who likes to make a difference in people’s lives. I enjoy too many things and wish I could be more focused. (Suspicions of ADD have crossed my mind!) One of my dreams is to have a library just like Professor Henry Higgins (My Fair Lady)…ladder and all! My art has been compared to Chris Riggs (for Mayor), which flatters me (of course), but I do think my style is distinctly different … hope you enjoy it!
This entry was posted in Lifestyle Giving and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

