January Almost Over!

It’s so hard to believe that January is almost over, and even more hard to believe that it’s been well over six months since I’ve blogged on WordPress. It’s certainly not because I didn’t have anything to write about…it’s just one of those “wave things.” You know, you go through a wave of spending your spare time on Facebook, or a wave of spending time on Youtube, or a wave of doing other things altogether. For me the latter part of 2009 was spent doing artwork and setting up more online selling venues. I joined Bonanzle, Etsy and Imagekind.

On Bonanzle I created a booth named Creative Cornucopia…it has books, greeting cards, original art, and original ambient music. I kind of enjoyed the process of setting up my Bonanzle booth because they made it easy and almost effortless. But the other thing I liked about Bonanzle is that they don’t charge any insertion fees. A pleasant change compared to ebay (who charges for everything)!

I learned a lot while setting up my various selling venues, including how to create a banner. I never thought that I’d enjoy doing something like creating banners, but I really did. I found a nice site called Puresilva–they made the process affordable and easy. So any of you that are looking for an affordable banner site, Puresilva offers a good value.

I just finished setting up my artwork account on imagekind.com, and I must say I was pretty impressed with how easy they made it. Plus they seem like a class-act that offers great service at fairly affordable prices. I wasn’t sure what to expect from an online professional gallery, but I was more than pleased with their services and the ease of setting up my gallery.

It’s funny how fast time slips through our fingers; especially when it comes to working online. This thing that was supposed to save us so much time seems to have created a vacum in which time is sucked up by volumes! I’m not complaining, but I can’t help but notice that humanity has a way of doing that. We create something as a time-saver and ultimately it always ends up being a time-waster (and money drainer).   To name a few: phones, computers, vegetable choppers,  and dish washers.   Anyone have any thoughts on that?

Anyway, I am excited about this New Year, because it holds some hope that I can spend time on creative pursuits now that I’ve got some selling venues set-up. Who knows, I probably will set-up more places to sell my art, but it is far more enjoyable to be creative with pen to paper, than it is placing hand to mouse and keyboard.

About gloryjean

I’m a poet, artist, songwriter, and blogger. I’m bonkers about good biographies, persistent in my pursuit of learning French, and just plain weird when it comes to symmetry. I am a “quiet” philanthropist (or “good deed doer” according to the Wizard of Oz) who likes to make a difference in people’s lives. I enjoy too many things and wish I could be more focused. (Suspicions of ADD have crossed my mind!) One of my dreams is to have a library just like Professor Henry Higgins (My Fair Lady)…ladder and all! My art has been compared to Chris Riggs (for Mayor), which flatters me (of course), but I do think my style is distinctly different … hope you enjoy it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

